IPL All-Time Records: Top Performances That Shaped IPL History

IPL top performers

The Indian Premier League, or IPL, is one of the most popular and exciting cricket tournaments in the world. Since its inception in 2008, IPL has witnessed some of the most unforgettable moments, which have gone on to become part of cricketing folklore. From nail-biting finishes to stunning performances, IPL has never failed to amaze cricket fans worldwide. In this article, we will take a look at some of the IPL all-time records, including the most runs, most wickets, highest individual score, most sixes, most fours, IPL centuries, best bowling figures, most dot balls, and IPL maidens.

IPL All-Time Records: Batsmen

When it comes to batting records in the IPL, one name that stands out is Virat Kohli. The Indian skipper has been the most consistent batsman in IPL history, scoring a whopping 6,151 runs in 199 matches, with five centuries and 40 fifties to his name. Kohli is followed by Suresh Raina, who has scored 5,491 runs in 193 matches, with one century and 38 fifties.

In terms of the highest individual score, it’s hard to forget Chris Gayle’s incredible innings of 175 not out off 66 balls against Pune Warriors in 2013. Gayle’s record is followed by Brendon McCullum’s 158 not out in the first-ever IPL match in 2008.

When it comes to hitting sixes, it’s Chris Gayle once again who holds the record, having hit 354 sixes in IPL history. Gayle is followed by AB de Villiers, who has hit 235 sixes in IPL matches.

IPL All-Time Records: Bowlers

When it comes to the bowlers, Lasith Malinga has been the most successful bowler in IPL history, picking up 170 wickets in 122 matches at an average of 19.8. Malinga is followed by Amit Mishra, who has picked up 160 wickets in 152 matches at an average of 24.2.

The best bowling figures in IPL history belong to Alzarri Joseph, who picked up 6/12 in his debut IPL match for Mumbai Indians against Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2019.

In terms of dot balls, Harbhajan Singh leads the pack, having bowled 1,350 dot balls in IPL matches. Bhuvneshwar Kumar follows him, having bowled 1,266 dot balls in IPL matches.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar also leads the pack when it comes to bowling maidens, having bowled 14 maidens in IPL matches. He is followed by Praveen Kumar, who has bowled 12 maidens in IPL matches.


IPL has witnessed some of the most exciting moments in cricket history, and the records made in this tournament are truly remarkable. In this article, we looked at some of the IPL all-time records for batsmen and bowlers. From Virat Kohli’s consistent run-scoring to Lasith Malinga’s wicket-taking prowess, IPL has been a breeding ground for some of the best cricketing performances in the world. These records are a testament to the quality of cricket played in IPL and are sure to be broken in the upcoming seasons.


  1. Who has scored the most runs in IPL history?
  • Virat Kohli has scored the most runs in IPL history with 6,151 runs in 199 matches.
  1. Who has taken the most wickets in IPL history?
  • Lasith Malinga has taken the most wickets in IPL history with 170

Also Read: IPL 2023 Points Table List

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *